Control Room Monitor Mixes

Front Cover  Back cover

Yellow Dog Records, Luxembourg,
YD 032, 1993,
Total Playing Time : 50:17
Sound quality: excellent

Studio monitor mixes of various post-1964 songs.

Liner Notes:

" A 'Monitor Mix' is an off-line recording taped from studio monitors during the preliminary mixing of a song. The Beatles often recorded their sessions this way for home listening, unintentionally preserving some mixes which were subsequently lost on the E.M.I. multi-tracks.
By occasionally isolating one of the tracks, these tapes clearly illustrate how post-1964 construction of Beatles songs occurred.

Track list:

N  TITLE  Writer  Time

" Liner Notes "

1  Across The Universe  Lennon / McCartney  3:45  "Seven takes were recorded on February 4, 1968. Although many variants exist of the released take, this lovely performance is the only available outtake from the '68 sessions." (Take 2, external).
2  For No One  Lennon / McCartney  2:53  "Take 1 (breakdown) and Take 2 (incomplete). Paul and Ringo recorded this track on May 9, 1966. This is what the original backing tracks sounded like."
3  I Am The Walrus  Lennon / McCartney  6:46  "Take 7,8 (breakdowns) and Take 9 (complete). Walrus was recorded on September 5, 1967. Takes 4-16 exist, with five of them being complete. The resulting "best" take (#16) was mixed down to two-track and called Take 17. On September 6th, Paul and Ringo superimposed more bass and drums and John recorded the vocal - so the only known vocal performance of the song is the one that was released."
4  For No One  Lennon / McCartney  7:36  "This is the May 16th vocal overdub session (using the backing tracks of Take 10 from May 9). What we're hearing is several attempts to mix the same mix.
The French horn part, added on May 19th is now audible." (Take 14, external).
5  Here, There And Everywhere  Lennon / McCartney  9:29  "Recorded on June 16th, 1966. Take 13 (mixed down and overdubbed as Take 14). Once again, we hear multiple attempts to mix the same take."
6  Sexy Sadie  Lennon / McCartney  0:38  19 July 1968, Take unknown.
7  Brain Epstein Blues  John Lennon   1:08  "An off hand 'tribute' from John, performed during the Sexy Sadie session (above)." 19 July 1968, Outtake.
8  Sexy Sadie  Lennon / McCartney  2:43  19 July 1968, Take unknown.
9  Lady Madonna  Lennon / McCartney  1:17  "This interesting fragment is part of an unidentified session, most likely for a completely different song. Since it's undocumented in E.M.I.'s official session log, it's possible that this was captured off-line on the tape which was recording the monitor mixes, and was not recorded on multi-track tape." (intrumental)
10  Hapiness Is A Warm Gun   Lennon / McCartney  2:49  "A single track from the original multi-track, consisting of edited organ, guitar, drum and piano overdubs. This and the following performances are from the remix session of October 15th, 1968."
Overdub onto track 8 of take 65.
11  I'm So Tired  Lennon / McCartney  2:02  "Guitar and organ parts which were later mixed almost entirely out of the song. A fascinating glimpse into an abandoned idea."
Overdub onto track 8 of take 14 from remix session of October 15th, 1968.
12  I'm So Tired  Lennon / McCartney  2:32

 "A series of remixes of the same take. Most of these include John's count-in, and a post-song comment from George. John's vocal is also single-tracked, unlike the E.M.I. release. Also note that Lennon's post-song "Paul's A Dead Man" muttering is absent fro the original performance."
Take 14 from various mixing attempts  from the session of 15 oct 1968. 

13  I'm So Tired  Lennon / McCartney  3:01
14  I'm So Tired  Lennon / McCartney  2:09
15  I'm So Tired  Lennon / McCartney  1:29



Albums       GIF Animation       Paul and Friends      Gallery       Library       Macca's Bootlegs       Beatles' Bootlegs       Song Index       Video Tapes      Midi Files

Back To Top

Paul McCartney Is Live !